Moonwalkers FC

1 Leave a comment on verse 1 0 They told me there was a man who lived on the moon
And that it was made of cheese
They also convinced that soon
We could come and go there as we please

2 Leave a comment on verse 2 0 And so we joined the countdown for take-off
Watched the orbit and the landing
Marvelling all the while
At a feat so outstanding

3 Leave a comment on verse 3 0 Unto the Sea of Tranquility
Have stepped 12 men good and true
Not forgetting those on the spaceship
All vastly essential crew

4 Leave a comment on verse 4 0 And so we could form a squad
From those who exited the space-station
All suited and booted, in away kit shod
Lining out in formation

5 Leave a comment on verse 5 0 As the first to step out onto Lunar Park (sponsor tbc)
Neil Armstrong would have to be captain of the team
His sound-bites still so iconic
They adorn many a memorable meme

6 Leave a comment on verse 6 0 Lineout:
Neil Armstrong
Buzz Aldrin
Charles “Pete” Conrad
Alan Bean
Alan Shephard
Edgar Mitchell
David Scott
James Irwin
John Young
Charles Duke
Eugene Cernan
Harrison Schmitt

7 Leave a comment on verse 7 0 12 proud men standing tall
But pray do tell, who was the nit
Who forgot to bring the ball ?!?!?!



Written to commemorate the 50th Anniversary, since man first walked on the moon, 20/07/1969.

Fifty years ago, Neil Armstrong became the first person to set foot on the moon.

His immortal line: ‘That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind,’ has been etched into the history books as permanently as his bootprint on the dusty surface of the Sea of Tranquillity.

Armstrong was joined by Edwin ‘Buzz’ Aldrin on the lunar surface, whilst Michael Collins, the third member of NASA’s Apollo 11 mission orbited above. After two hours on the moon, Armstrong and Aldrin rejoined Collins and the three returned to Earth.

Neil Armstrong might need to amend his commentary….

“That’s one small stepover from Mané, one giant leap from Crouch!”

These are all the astronauts that have walked on the moon:
Neil Armstrong – Apollo 11, 1969
Buzz Aldrin – Apollo 11, 1969
Pete Conrad – Apollo 12, 1969
Alan Bean – Apollo 12, 1969
Alan Shepard, Apollo 14, 1971
Edgar Mitchell – Apollo 14, 1971
David Scott – Apollo 15, 1971
James Irwin – Apollo 15, 1971
John Young – Apollo 16, 1972
Charles Duke – Apollo 16, 1972
Gene Cernan – Apollo 17, 1972
Harrison Schmitt – Apollo 17, 1972

Amazingly, no-one since! (at time of writing).

Source: http://footballpoets.org/poems/moonwalkers-fc/