|

Can Both Teams Lose?

1 Leave a comment on verse 1 0 Is there any way
When Liverpool play
Chelsea, in the league of few champions
(which anyway, is a Cup, not a league)
Is there any way,
That both teams can lose?

2 Leave a comment on verse 2 0 No, you are told,
One team has to go through.
Check the rules,
It’s Reds v Blues
And sadly, only one can lose.

3 Leave a comment on verse 3 0 But suppose the pitch
Due to some tectonic hitch
Opened up wide,
And swallowed both teams whole
Before either had scored a goal?
What then?

4 Leave a comment on verse 4 0 Then, I’d construe,
Your football fantasy
Just came true.

6

Source: http://footballpoets.org/poems/can-both-teams-lose/